What the Fourth of July Means to Me

by Diane Ravitch, 7/4/16

I am very patriotic. I was a child during World War II, when Americans fought for freedom and democracy and to liberate the world from tyranny.

I want America to be the America I thought it would be in my childhood.

I want it to be a place with “liberty and justice for all.”

I want it to be a country where no one is homeless.

I want it to be a country where no one goes hungry, where everyone who wants to work can find a job that pays a living wage.

I want it to be a country where no one who is ill cannot afford medical care.

I want it to be a country where people get enough education to realize their hopes and dreams, without going deep into debt.

I want it to be a country where schools cultivate creativity and the joy of learning.

I want it to be a country where educators are treated with the same respect as other professionals.

I want it be to a country where neighbors help one another and care for one another.

I want it to be the country of the American Dream, a country where every child can grow up loved and live in dignity.

That’s what the Fourth of July means to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under National govt & politics

Leave a Reply

