Tell the Senate NRA lapdogs what you think of them blocking expanding background checks

email, 4/23/15

I was just a little girl in 1999 when my father, Ricky Byrdsong, was shot and killed by a deranged man who was able to get a gun with ease despite his record of dangerous behavior.

That’s why I left my home in Atlanta last year to visit Capitol Hill and confront face-to-face the senators who freely accept corporate gun lobby money: because they’re the same senators who voted against expanding life-saving Brady background checks that would help keep guns out of dangerous hands.

I figured if I showed up in person, I couldn’t be ignored.

I was wrong. They’re at it again. This week, representatives from the corporate gun lobby are back on the Hill, meeting with their closest allies in Congress, all of whom have taken corporate gun lobby money: Rand Paul (R-KY), Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Jeff Flake (R-AZ), John Cornyn (R-TX), and Chuck Grassley (R-IA), among others.

I can’t be there in person this time, but my fellow gun violence prevention advocates are storming the Hill to hold these senators accountable on my behalf.Help me support their efforts by calling 1-866-205-1084 and congratulating these gun lobby lap dogs on receiving their special obedience school certificates for blocking legislation to expand Brady background checks today.

My dad was my hero. A background check could have saved his life. My greatest wish is that no one has to suffer the way my family did—that no child has to grow up without a parent. So please, call 1-866-205-1084 and tell the senators who gladly take money from the corporate gun lobby that the voice of the overwhelming majority of Americans who support expanding Brady background checks won’t be ignored.

Our voices together can’t be dismissed.

Sincerely,

Kelley Byrdsong
Daughter of Ricky Byrdsong
Advocate for the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence

PS: Brady’s ongoing, state-by-state effort to get Congress to Finish the Job by expanding Brady background checks to all gun sales relies on your support. Your gift of any amount helps—donate today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Guns, violence, crime

Leave a Reply

